Hyperion Records

Artist Hyperion Records
Pizarro, Artur (piano)
© Mike Owen

Artur Pizarro (piano)

Born in Lisbon, Portugal in 1968, Artur Pizarro was first introduced to the piano by his maternal grandmother Berta da Nóbrega and her piano-duo partner Campos Coelho (who had been a student of Vianna da Motta, Ricardo Viñes and Isidor Philipp). Listening to their rehearsals would create in the very young Artur a great love of the duo and duet piano repertoire. It would be their influence that would lead Artur to study with Sequeira Costa from 1974 to 1990. Sequeira Costa had also been a student of Vianna da Motta, and also of Mark Hamburg, Edwin Fischer, Marguerite Long and Jacques Février. This very strong lineage would make Artur feel equally versed in the German and French piano schools and repertoire.

Having appeared onstage and on Portuguese television from the age of 3, Artur then concentrated on his studies, relocating to Lawrence, Kansas in the USA where Costa is Distinguished Professor of Piano at the University of Kansas. Artur began performing publicly again at the age of 13 with a recital début at the São Luíz Theatre in Lisbon and with a concerto performance with the Gulbenkian Orchestra later in the same year. While still under the tutelage of Costa, Artur Pizarro won first prizes in the 1987 Vianna da Motta Competition, the 1988 Greater Palm Beach Symphony Competition and the 1990 Harveys Leeds International Pianoforte Competition.

Since then, Artur Pizarro has regularly performed worldwide in recital, chamber music and with some of the world’s leading orchestras and great conductors such as Sir Charles Mackerras, Charles Dutoit, Sir Simon Rattle, Jean Fournier, Philippe Entremont, Pascal Tortelier, Sir Andrew Davis, Yuri Termikanov, and Vladimir Fedoseev, among others. Artur is also active in chamber music through his trio, the Pizarro Trio with violinist Raphael Oleg and cellist Josephine Knight. Due to his childhood experience listening to his grandmother’s two-piano rehearsals, Artur formed a piano duo with Lithuanian pianist, Vita Panomariovaite. Their début recital in Glasgow was broadcast by the BBC.

Recent projects have included a series of the works for piano of Debussy and Ravel in London, broadcast on BBC Radio 3. This series was also performed in Lisbon, Portugal and in Aarhus in Denmark. Artur has also performed the cycle of the piano sonatas of Beethoven to great acclaim in the USA, Portugal and UK where the BBC also broadcast the eight recitals. Artur was nominated for a Royal Philharmonic Society award for this series.

Tom Croxon Management Ltd, 22 Hurst Road, Buckhurst Hill, Essex, IG9 6AB, England. Tel: +44 (0) 20 8279 2516 Fax: +44 (0) 20 8504 2200; email tom@tomcroxonmanagement.co.uk

'Milhaud: Music for two pianists' (CDA67014)
Milhaud: Music for two pianists
Buy by post £10.50 CDA67014 
'Vianna da Motta: Piano Concertos' (CDA67163)
Vianna da Motta: Piano Concertos
Buy by post £10.50 CDA67163  Studio Master FLAC & ALAC downloads available
On other labels
'Beethoven: Piano Concertos Nos 3, 4 & 5' (CKD336)
Beethoven: Piano Concertos Nos 3, 4 & 5
CKD336  2CDs Download only  
'Beethoven: Piano Sonatas' (CKD244)
Beethoven: Piano Sonatas
CKD244  Download only  
'Chopin: Piano Sonatas' (CKD250)
Chopin: Piano Sonatas
CKD250  Download only  
'Chopin: Reminiscences' (CKD248)
Chopin: Reminiscences
CKD248  Download only  
'Ravel: The complete music for solo piano, Vol. 1' (CKD290)
Ravel: The complete music for solo piano, Vol. 1
CKD290  Download only  
'Ravel: The complete music for solo piano, Vol. 1' (CKD315)
Ravel: The complete music for solo piano, Vol. 1
CKD315  Download only  
Alphabetical listing of all musical works
À la manière de Borodine (Ravel)
À la manière de Chabrier (Ravel)
Alborada del gracioso  Movement 4 of Miroirs (Ravel)
Ballada, Op 16 (Vianna da Motta)
Barcarolle in F sharp major, Op 60 (Chopin)
Carnaval à la Nouvelle-Orléans, Op 275 (Milhaud)
Fantasia Dramática (Vianna da Motta)
Fantasy Impromptu in C sharp minor, Op 66 (Chopin)
Gaspard de la nuit (Ravel)
Grave – Doppio movimento  Movement 1 of Piano Sonata No 2 in B flat minor, Op 35 (Chopin)
Jeux d'eau (Ravel)
Kentuckiana, Op 287 (Milhaud)
La Libertadora, Op 236a (Milhaud)
La vallée des cloches  Movement 5 of Miroirs (Ravel)
La valse (Ravel)
Le Bal Martiniquais, Op 249 (Milhaud)
Le Bœuf sur le Toit, Op 58a (Milhaud)
Le gibet  Movement 2 of Gaspard de la nuit (Ravel)
Le tombeau de Couperin (Ravel)
Lento con espressione in C sharp minor 'Nocturne', KKIVa/16 (Chopin)
Les Songes, Op 237 (Milhaud)
Marche funèbre  Movement 3 of Piano Sonata No 2 in B flat minor, Op 35 (Chopin)
Mazurka in A flat major, Op 24 No 3 (Chopin)
Mazurka in B flat major, Op 17 No 1 (Chopin)
Mazurka in B flat minor, Op 24 No 4 (Chopin)
Mazurka in F major, Op 68 No 3 (Chopin)
Menuet antique (Ravel)
Menuet sur le nom d'Haydn (Ravel)
Miroirs (Ravel)
Noctuelles  Movement 1 of Miroirs (Ravel)
Nocturne in B major, Op 62 No 1 (Chopin)
Nocturne in D flat major, Op 27 No 2 (Chopin)
Nocturne in E flat major, Op 9 No 2 (Chopin)
Oiseaux tristes  Movement 2 of Miroirs (Ravel)
Ondine  Movement 1 of Gaspard de la nuit (Ravel)
Pavane pour une infante défunte (Ravel)
Piano Concerto in A major (Vianna da Motta)
Piano Concerto No 3 in C minor, Op 37 (Beethoven)
Piano Concerto No 4 in G major, Op 58 (Beethoven)
Piano Concerto No 5 in E flat major 'Emperor', Op 73 (Beethoven)
Piano Sonata in C minor 'Pathétique', Op 13 (Beethoven)
Piano Sonata in C sharp minor 'Moonlight', Op 27 No 2 (Beethoven)
Piano Sonata in D minor 'Tempest', Op 31 No 2 (Beethoven)
Piano Sonata in F minor 'Appassionata', Op 57 (Beethoven)
Piano Sonata No 2 in B flat minor, Op 35 (Chopin)
Piano Sonata No 3 in B minor, Op 58 (Chopin)
Polonaise in A flat major, Op 53 (Chopin)
Prélude (Ravel)
Scaramouche, Op 165b (Milhaud)
Scarbo  Movement 3 of Gaspard de la nuit (Ravel)
Scherzo No 2 in B flat minor, Op 31 (Chopin)
Sérénade grotesque (Ravel)
Sonatine (Ravel)
Une barque sur l'océan  Movement 3 of Miroirs (Ravel)
Valses nobles et sentimentales (Ravel)
Variations brillantes in B flat major on 'Je vends des scapulaires' from Hérold's Ludovic, Op 12 (Chopin)
Waltz in A flat major, Op 34 No 1 (Chopin)
Waltz in A flat major, Op 69 No 1 (Chopin)
Waltz in E flat major, KKIVa/14 (Chopin)
Waltz in E flat major, Op 18 (Chopin)
   English   Français   Deutsch