Artist Hyperion Records
Hugh, Tim (cello)
© Malcolm Crowthers

Tim Hugh (cello)

Tim Hugh is recognized as one of the finest, most dynamic and abundantly innovative cellists of the new generation. After wining two medals, including the Bach Prize, at the Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow, he has appeared with many of Europe’s leading orchestras and worked with conductors including Boulez, Haitink, Rostropovich, Menuhin, Pappano, Previn, Sir Georg Solti, Sir Colin Davis and Sir Andrew Davis. He has toured extensively and also appeared in the Aldeburgh Festival and the BBC Proms in London.

After a year at Yale, studying the cello with Aldo Parisot, he gained his MA at Cambridge reading Medicine. Throughout this period he also studied with William Pleeth and Jacqueline Du Pré. In 1995 he was appointed Principal Cellist of the London Symphony Orchestra, with whom he immediately appeared as soloist with Pierre Boulez, standing in for Rostropovich.

Tim Hugh’s recordings include concertos by Bliss, Boccherini, C P E Bach, Britten, Finzi, Hofmann, Holst and Walton, the last being short-listed for a Gramophone Award. Other recordings include Bach’s Suites, Britten’s Suites, Beethoven’s Sonatas, Tavener’s Svyati, and with the LSO and Haitink Brahms’s Double Concerto.


Beethoven: Symphony No 7
Studio Master: LSO0578Download onlyStudio Master FLAC & ALAC downloads available
Brahms: The Complete Chamber Music
CDS44331/4212CDs Boxed set (at a special price)
Brahms: Viola Sonatas
Britten: Cello Suites
CDA66274Archive ServiceDownload currently discounted
Fauré: Piano Quartets
with Domus
CDA30007Hyperion 30th Anniversary series
Fauré: Piano Quartets
with Domus

Alphabetical listing of all musical works

Andante lento  
Barcarola: Lento  
Canto primo: Sostenuto e largamente  
Canto segundo: Sostenuto  
Canto terzo: Sostenuto  
Canto: Con moto  
Cello Suite No 1, Op 72 (Britten)
Cello Suite No 2, Op 80 (Britten)
Cello Suite No 3, Op 87 (Britten)
Ciaccona: Allegro  
Declamato: Largo  
Dialogo: Allegretto  
Fuga: Andante  
Fuga: Andante espressivo  
I Fuga: Andante moderato  
II Lamento: Lento rubato  
III Serenata: Allegretto, pizzicato  
Introduzione: Lento  
IV Marcia: Alla marcia moderato  
Marcia: Allegro  
Moto perpetuo: Presto  
Passacaglia: Lento solenne  
Piano Quartet No 1 in C minor, Op 15 (Fauré)
Piano Quartet No 2 in G minor, Op 45 (Fauré)
Recitativo: Fantastico  
Scherzo: Allegro molto  
Trio for piano, viola and cello in A minor, Op 114 (Brahms)
Triple Concerto in C major, Op 56 (Beethoven)
V Bordone: Moderato quasi recitativo  
VI Moto perpetuo e Canto quarto: Presto