Hyperion Records

Artist Hyperion Records

National Arts Centre Orchestra

Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra was formed in 1969 as the resident orchestra of the then newly opened National Arts Centre in Ottawa. Mario Bernardi was its founding conductor, and their subsequent music directors were Franco Mannino, Gabriel Chmura and Trevor Pinnock.

Under the direction of the renowned conductor–violinist–violist Pinchas Zukerman, the NAC Orchestra continues to draw accolades both abroad and at its home in Ottawa, where it gives over one hundred performances a year. In addition to this full subscription season, the orchestra tours throughout Canada and around the world. As a Canadian cultural ambassador, the ensemble has visited 129 cities internationally, including in the United Kingdom, Russia, Mexico, Japan and Israel. The orchestra’s historic tour of China in 2013 included over eighty education activities in addition to public concerts. A tour of the United Kingdom in 2014, built around the centenary of the outbreak of the First World War, commemorates the historic and ongoing bond between Canada and the UK.

The NAC Orchestra has forty recordings to its name, six of which are with Pinchas Zukerman: Haydn, Vivaldi, Beethoven, Schubert and two of Mozart (including, as well as orchestral music, recordings of flute quartets and string quintets). The commissioning of original Canadian works has always been an important part of the National Arts Centre’s mandate with over one hundred works commissioned to date.

'Hyperion monthly sampler – December 2014' (HYP201412)
Hyperion monthly sampler – December 2014
HYP201412  Download-only monthly sampler NEW  
'Mozart: Piano Concertos Nos 22 & 24' (CDA68049)
Mozart: Piano Concertos Nos 22 & 24
Buy by post £7.88 CDA68049  Best of 2014   Studio Master FLAC & ALAC downloads available
'Hyperion monthly sampler – July 2014' (HYP201407)
Hyperion monthly sampler – July 2014
HYP201407  Download-only monthly sampler  
Alphabetical listing of all musical works
Piano Concerto No 22 in E flat major, K482 (Mozart)
Piano Concerto No 24 in C minor, K491 (Mozart)
   English   Français   Deutsch