Please wait...

Hyperion Records

Click cover art to view larger version
Track(s) taken from CDJ33051/3
Recording details: October 2004
All Saints' Church, East Finchley, London, United Kingdom
Produced by Mark Brown
Engineered by Julian Millard
Release date: October 2005
Total duration: 1 minutes 31 seconds

Rastlose Liebe
First line:
Dem Schnee, dem Regen
author of text

Eberwein’s Rastlose Liebe was composed in 1826 (alongside five other Goethe songs including Die Spröde and Erlkönig) and was published in Volume 2 of Täglichsbeck’s Orpheon anthology in the 1850s. The key is E minor with a maggiore section at the end—a passage that is marked poco meno mosso, a tempo change that is uncharacteristic of settings of this poem. However this allows the pianist a little more time to encompass the very tricky triplets that slither their way through the accompaniment. This restless arpeggiated style brings to mind Mendelssohn’s piano-writing, in his chamber music more than in his songs.

comparative Schubert listening:
Rastlose Liebe D138. 19 May 1815

from notes by Graham Johnson 2006

Other albums featuring this work
'Schubert: The Complete Songs' (CDS44201/40)
Schubert: The Complete Songs
MP3 £130.00FLAC £130.00ALAC £130.00Buy by post £150.00 CDS44201/40  40CDs Boxed set + book (at a special price)  
   English   Français   Deutsch