Hyperion Records

Holloway, Robin (b1943)  

Robin Holloway

born: 19 October 1943
country: United Kingdom

Robin Holloway is a fluent and versatile composer, noted for his rapprochement with tonality and Romanticism in such works as Scenes from Schumann (1970). His music has emotional power, skillful construction and exuberant orchestration. His output ranges from lush orchestral scores such as Seascape and Harvest, to the ensemble work Evening with Angels composed for the London Sinfonietta, and in lighter vein a series of widely-performed Serenades. Noted Holloway conductors include Oliver Knussen, Simon Rattle and Michael Tilson Thomas.

   English   Français   Deutsch