Hyperion Records

Artist Hyperion Records
Williams, Robin (oboe)
© Jeremy Hardie

Robin Williams (oboe)

Born in West Bromwich, Robin Williams attended Wells Cathedral School where he studied oboe with Janet Craxton. He went on to study with Peter Graeme at the Royal Northern College of Music during the early 1980s. While there he was a finalist in many prestigious competitions and a major award winner of the Countess of Munster Trust.

After graduating, Williams spent several years abroad, as concert soloist with the Heidelberg Kammerorkester, the Wiener Solisten, the Johann Strauss Sinfonietta and Musikkollegium Zurich, and subsequently as Principal Oboe with the Espoo City Chamber Orchestra and the Espoo Wind Quintet in Finland. Moving to Germany in 1990, he worked with the Niederrheinischen Sinfoniker.

Robin was appointed Principal Oboe with the Scottish Chamber Orchestra in 1992. He appears regularly as part of the SCO Wind Ensemble, in chamber music and as a soloist with the SCO, including Kenneth Leighton’s Veris Gratia (with cellist Raphael Wallfisch) and Bach’s Oboe and Violin Concerto with violinist Alexander Janiczek. His recordings include Bach’s Oboe and Violin Concerto (directed by violinist Joji Hattori) and Vivaldi’s Oboe Concerto in A minor as part of a mixed disc of Vivaldi concertos conducted by Nicholas McGegan.

   English   Français   Deutsch