Hyperion Records

Artist Hyperion Records
Becker-Bender, Tanja (violin)
© Uwe Arens

Tanja Becker-Bender (violin)

Tanja Becker-Bender was born in Stuttgart, Germany, into a family of scientists and musicians of Bohemian origin. Early musical success, manifested in top prizes at the international competitions in Geneva (CIEM), Brussels (CIM Chimay), Tokyo (Bunkamura Orchard Hall Award), Houston, Gorizia and Genoa (Premio Paganini), led her to perform as a soloist under the baton of Kurt Masur, Gerd Albrecht, Fabio Luisi, Hartmut Haenchen, Uri Segal, Günter Herbig and Lothar Zagrosek, with renowned orchestras such as the Tokyo Philharmonic, Jerusalem Symphony, Yomiuri Nippon Symphony, Houston Symphony, the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, Radio Symphony Orchestra Stuttgart of the SWR, Konzerthausorchester Berlin, Deutsche Radio Philharmonie, and the Vienna, Zurich, Prague and English chamber orchestras.

Also an avid chamber musician, Tanja Becker-Bender regularly plays in festivals in the US, in Israel, and all over Europe, and has performed together with Gidon Kremer, Yuri Bashmet, Boris Pergamenschikow and Arnold Steinhardt, and given recitals in New York, Buenos Aires, Montevideo, Paris, London, Rome and Vienna. She works regularly with pianist Péter Nagy. She has received her most significant musical education from some of the world’s leading quartet musicians—Wilhelm Melcher (Melos Quartett), David Takeno, Günter Pichler (Alban Berg Quartett) and Robert Mann (Juilliard String Quartet)—and received important impulses from Eberhard Feltz and Ferenc Rados. Applying the idealistic approach of chamber music to all genres of music, she dedicates herself to a wide range of repertoire. Her interest in new music has led her to collaborations with composers such as Cristóbal Halffter, Peter Ruzicka and Pēteris Vasks, as well as numerous first performances. Her interest in exploring little-known repertoire, alongside well-known music, is illustrated by her performances of concertos by Reger, Busoni, Strauss, Weill, Glass and Ligeti, and by her Hyperion recordings of Paganini, Reger, Respighi, Hindemith and Schulhoff.

In 2006 she was appointed one of the youngest-ever professors in Germany, in Saarbrücken, following Maxim Vengerov. In 2009 she became professor of violin at the University of Music and Theatre in Hamburg. In 2011 she was elected a member of the prestigious Freie Akademie der Künste Hamburg.

'Hyperion monthly sampler – December 2014' (HYP201412)
Hyperion monthly sampler – December 2014
HYP201412  Download-only monthly sampler NEW  
'Busoni & Strauss: Violin Concertos' (CDA68044)
Busoni & Strauss: Violin Concertos
Buy by post £7.88 CDA68044  Best of 2014   Studio Master FLAC & ALAC downloads available
'Hindemith: Violin Sonatas' (CDA68014)
Hindemith: Violin Sonatas
Buy by post £10.50 CDA68014  Studio Master FLAC & ALAC downloads available
'Paganini: 24 Caprices' (CDA67763)
Paganini: 24 Caprices
Buy by post £10.50 CDA67763 
'Reger: Violin Concertos' (CDA67892)
Reger: Violin Concertos
Buy by post £10.50 CDA67892  Studio Master FLAC & ALAC downloads available
'Respighi: Violin Sonatas' (CDA67930)
Respighi: Violin Sonatas
Buy by post £10.50 CDA67930  Studio Master FLAC & ALAC downloads available
'Schulhoff: Violin Sonatas' (CDA67833)
Schulhoff: Violin Sonatas
Buy by post £10.50 CDA67833 
'Strauss & Busoni: Violin Concertos' (CDA68044)
Strauss & Busoni: Violin Concertos
Buy by post £7.88 CDA68044  Best of 2014   Studio Master FLAC & ALAC downloads available
'Hyperion monthly sampler – August 2014' (HYP201408)
Hyperion monthly sampler – August 2014
HYP201408  Download-only monthly sampler  
Alphabetical listing of all musical works
24 Caprices, Op 1 (Paganini)
Aubade: Vivace  No 2 of Cinque Pezzi (Respighi)
Benedictus  Movement 4b of Missa solemnis, Op 123 (Beethoven/Busoni)
Berceuse: Lentamente  No 4 of Cinque Pezzi (Respighi)
Cinque Pezzi (Respighi)
Humoresque: Allegretto vivace  No 5 of Cinque Pezzi (Respighi)
Meditation: Sehr langsam  Movement from Nobilissima visione (Hindemith)
Missa solemnis, Op 123 (Beethoven/Busoni)
Nobilissima visione (Hindemith)
Romanza: Andante mosso  No 1 of Cinque Pezzi (Respighi)
Sei Pezzi (Respighi)
Serenata: Andante calmo  No 5 of Sei Pezzi (Respighi)
Sonata for solo violin, WV83 (Schulhoff)
Sonata for violin and piano No 1, WV24 (Schulhoff)
Sonata for violin and piano No 2, WV91 (Schulhoff)
Suite for violin and piano, WV18 (Schulhoff)
Two Romances, Op 50 (Reger)
Valse caressante: Tempo lento di Valzer  No 4 of Sei Pezzi (Respighi)
Violin Concerto in A major, Op 101 (Reger)
Violin Concerto in D major, Op 35a (Busoni)
Violin Concerto in D minor, Op 8 (Strauss)
Violin Sonata in B minor (Respighi)
Violin Sonata in C major (Hindemith)
Violin Sonata in D major, Op 11 No 2 (Hindemith)
Violin Sonata in D minor (Respighi)
Violin Sonata in E flat major, Op 11 No 1 (Hindemith)
Violin Sonata in E major (Hindemith)
   English   Français   Deutsch