Artist Hyperion Records
Mulroy, Nicholas (tenor)
© Will Unwin

Nicholas Mulroy (tenor)

Born in Liverpool, Nicholas Mulroy read modern languages at Clare College Cambridge and then studied at the Royal Academy of Music in London. He has appeared as Septimius in Handel’s Theodora with Trevor Pinnock, the Evangelist in Bach’s Christmas Oratorio in London with Sir John Eliot Gardiner, Premiere Parque in Rameau’s Hippolyte et Aricie with Emmanuelle Haïm at the Théâtre du Capitole de Toulouse, Le Récitant in Berlioz’s L’Enfance du Christ with Sir Colin Davis, Handel’s Messiah with the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment and Laurence Cummings, and Bach’s St John Passion with both Les Musiciens du Louvre under Marc Minkowski and the Gabrieli Consort and Players under Paul McCreesh. He has also made several appearances at the BBC Proms.

On stage Nicholas made his Glyndebourne debut under Vladimir Jurowski in Prokofiev’s Betrothal in a Monastery, has sung Mozart’s Ferrando (Così fan tutte), Don Ottavio (Don Giovanni), Belmonte (Die Entführung aus dem Serail) and Belfiore (La finta giardiniera), and Tenor Actor in Judith Weir’s Night at the Chinese Opera. He is also a committed recitalist. Recordings include a Gramophone Award-winning Handel Messiah and Acis in Acis and Galatea, the Evangelist in Bach’s St Matthew Passion, a disc of Michael Finnissy, Monteverdi with I Fagiolini, and Monteverdi’s Vespers with Robert King and The King’s Consort.


Bach: St John Passion
Studio Master: CDA67901/22CDsStudio Master FLAC & ALAC downloads available
Bach: St John Passion
Studio Master: CKD419Download onlyStudio Master FLAC & ALAC downloads available
Bach: St Matthew Passion
Studio Master: CKD313Download onlyStudio Master FLAC & ALAC downloads available
Christmas Vespers at Westminster Cathedral
Handel: Acis and Galatea
CKD319Download only
Handel: Esther
Studio Master: CKD397Download onlyStudio Master FLAC & ALAC downloads available
Handel: Messiah
Studio Master: CKD285Download onlyStudio Master FLAC & ALAC downloads available
Monteverdi: The Sacred Music, Vol. 1
Monteverdi: Vespers
Tallis: Salve intemerata & other sacred music
Studio Master: CDA67994Studio Master FLAC & ALAC downloads available
Walton: Coronation Te Deum & other choral works

Alphabetical listing of all musical works

Ach Herr, lass dein lieb Engelein  
Acis and Galatea, HWV49a (Handel)
Anima mea Dominum  
Audi caelum  
Ave maris stella  
Deposuit potentes de sede  
Deus in adiutorium meum intende  
Dixit Dominus  
Dixit Dominus I a 8 voci concertato 1640 (Monteverdi)
Domine, quis habitabit? (Tallis)
Duo Seraphim  
Erbarme dich  
Esther, HWV50a (Handel)
Esurientes implevit bonis  
Et exultavit spiritus meus  
Et misericordia eius  
Fecit potentiam in brachio suo  
Gloria Patri  
Hodie Christus natus est, SWV456 (Schütz)
How can I stay, when love invites? (Assuerus)  
I rage, I melt, I burn! (Polyphemus)  
Laetatus sum  
Lauda Jerusalem  
Laudate pueri  
Magnificat I a 8 voci 1640 (Monteverdi)
Messiah, HWV56 (Handel)
Missa brevis (Walton)
Nigra sum  
Nisi Dominus  
Now persecution shall lay by her iron rod – Tune your harps to cheerful strains (1st Israelite)  
O ruddier than the cherry (Polyphemus)  
Pulchra es  
Quia fecit mihi magna  
Quia respexit humilitatem  
Sicut erat in principio  
Sicut locutus est  
Sonata sopra Sancta Maria  
St John Passion, BWV245 (Bach)
St Matthew Passion, BWV244 (Bach)
Suscepit Israel puerum suum  
Vespers (Monteverdi)