Partita No 6 in E minor, BWV830 (Bach)
from Bach, Busoni & Beethoven: Piano Recital (SIGCD185)
1 Toccata [6'24]
2 Allemande [3'12]
3 Corrente [4'41]
4 Air [1'21]
5 Sarabande [8'02]
6 Tempo di Gavotta [2'03]
7 Gigue [5'00]
30 minutes 43 seconds 7 tracks
'An innovative and imaginative musician of real talent … his best playing here is the Bach Partita, outstanding in every way—lightly pedalled, lucidly voiced, with a lithe, rhythmic buoyancy and ...
'[James Rhodes] obviously loves the big-boned majesty of Busoni’s transcription of Bach’s Toccata, Adagio and Fugue in C BWV 564, and brings a wildly emotional, personal insight into both Beethoven’s ...
'These are accounts to challenge the competition; his musicality and technical mastery held us with complete attention easily … recommended' (Musical Pointers)