Brahms: Ein deutsches Requiem
chamber ensemble orchestration by Iain Farrington

A performance which reveals a quite different dimension to this most monumental of all Brahms’s works. Iain Farrington’s arrangement—the orchestral forces distilled down to an instrumental octet inspired by the composer’s own piano reduction—is a perfect match for the glorious young voices of Yale Schola Cantorum.

CDA68242  66 minutes 18 seconds
‘Much of the choral work is as hushed and haunting as any on disc. David Hill’s instincts are sound, especially in the Requiem’s outer pillars and its keystone, ‘How lovely are thy dwellings’’ (Gramop ...
BBC Music Magazine
Audiophile Audition, USA