Hyperion Records

Rastlose Liebe
First line:
Dem Schnee, dem Regen
author of text

'Schubert: The Complete Songs' (CDS44201/40)
Schubert: The Complete Songs
MP3 £130.00FLAC £130.00ALAC £130.00Buy by post £150.00 CDS44201/40  40CDs Boxed set + book (at a special price)  
'Songs by Schubert's contemporaries' (CDJ33051/3)
Songs by Schubert's contemporaries
Track 3 on CDJ33051/3 CD2 [1'31] 3CDs
Track 3 on CDS44201/40 CD39 [1'31] 40CDs Boxed set + book (at a special price)

Rastlose Liebe
Eberwein’s Rastlose Liebe was composed in 1826 (alongside five other Goethe songs including Die Spröde and Erlkönig) and was published in Volume 2 of Täglichsbeck’s Orpheon anthology in the 1850s. The key is E minor with a maggiore section at the end—a passage that is marked poco meno mosso, a tempo change that is uncharacteristic of settings of this poem. However this allows the pianist a little more time to encompass the very tricky triplets that slither their way through the accompaniment. This restless arpeggiated style brings to mind Mendelssohn’s piano-writing, in his chamber music more than in his songs.

comparative Schubert listening:
Rastlose Liebe D138. 19 May 1815

from notes by Graham Johnson 2006

Track-specific metadata
Click track numbers opposite to select

   English   Français   Deutsch